Reverb10 – no.3

8 Dec

December 3 Prompt

Author: Ali Edwards
Memory Keeping Idea Books
@aliedwards

Prompt: Moment. Pick one moment during which you felt most alive this year. Describe it in vivid detail (texture, smells, voices, noises, colors).

 

My right knee complains as my legs fight against gravity running down the hill. My nose tickles and eyes burn as I run past more ever-so-garden-proud Kiwis keep their lawns nice and short. Maybe if I’d taken some antihistamines I’d be finding this easier.  Now I start talking to myself: Ok, if I run to that lamp post then that’ll be the furthest I’ve run in the last 2 years. Ok, if I run to that road I can stop and walk fast.  Ok, now if I keep going to that bridge that’s more than half way.  Right keep going. C’mon! Now, must run faster than those dog walkers. I have to keep pushing my sweat soaked hair off my face, maybe if I continue I’ll just get  my hair all short – so much more practical. Now I realise I just have to keep persevering – and I’ll finish. Ok, maybe I can move a bit faster….

I hear the lawn mowers whine and a dry rasping sound. The sound is coming from me as I struggle to the end.  As I stop I mentally check over my body. My legs feel suddenly light and my core aches. But the elation is amazing. If this is what endorphines feel like, sign me up! My first nonstop 5k.

Leave a Reply

