Reverb10 – no.7

8 Dec

December 7 Prompt

Author: Cali Harris
caligater.com
@caligater

Prompt: Community. Where have you discovered community, online or otherwise, in 2010? What community would you like to join, create or more deeply connect with in 2011?

2010 has been my year experiencing what life is like without community. It wasn’t fun. I found myself going to the supermarket daily so I could have human interaction with someone other than my husband. Then I joined weighwatchers. Then I found a friend. She introduced me to native Kiwis and gave me the insider’s guide to the town. I volunteered. Eventually I found a job and have colleagues who are some of the best I’ve ever had.

Previously my community in the UK had been my work colleagues, friends. and geocaching acquaintances/friends.  If I’m honest and analytical I wasn’t really involved in my local community where I lived. The area scared me.  That’s something I want to change in 2011. I want to be part of where I live; to know the faces and names of at least some of the people in the street. I want to be someone people can ask for help. Community matters. Having no community is very lonely. I know. I’ve tried it.

Leave a Reply

