Reverb 10 – 11 things in 2011

12 Dec

Prompt: 11 Things. What are 11 things your life doesn’t need in 2011? How will you go about eliminating them? How will getting rid of these 11 things change your life?

This fits so seamlessly with our current situation of packing and repacking to relocate back around the world. We came to NZ with 2 checked pieces of luggage @ 23kg each and carry on luggage and now due to rule changes we are returning with only 1 piece to go in the hold. It’s not going fantastically well and there is a mass cull of clothing that will be too flimsy for Scottish summers; too tatty or too big.

So next year…

  1. Continue to lose weight – 11kilos would be great.
  2. Paper clutter – do I need to keep that Visa statement when I can see it online?
  3. Unloved items. I’m not one of those people who uses something they don’t love. If I love it, I’ll use it till it wears out.
  4. Fortune telling – as in over thinking/pre-analysing a situation to the point that I can’t do anything for fear it’ll cause offence or it’s so late I need to rush the task. I’m made head way with this but still got some way to go.
  5. Entitlement thinking – I’ve done X so I can do Y! Sometimes, I’ve found that I should think ‘I’ve done X so I should just be pleased.’ No extrinsic reward necessary.
  6. Housework guilt. – do it daily and not let it build up then I don’t need to think about it.
  7. Books – Here, I’ve enjoyed using the library and this is far better economically and environmentally.
  8. Workload stress – Use my time in the building wisely. Don’t stop at 3pm for a breather cos it’s harder to get going again.
  9. Ready meals – they’re expensive and full of artifical stuff. Better to eat beans on toast than a frozen ready meal.
  10. Excuses to not exercise. – this has improved but I need to remember why it’s important
  11. Magazine collecting – only buy select ones or subscribe and recycle old ones to avoid clutter.

It was quite hard to think of 11. Although I’m sure some of these things are so big they encompass many smaller things.

 

One Response to “Reverb 10 – 11 things in 2011”

  1. Paula - Buenos Aires December 12, 2010 at 4:06 pm #

    Great list.
    We did the “move across the world” too. It was a fantastic experience.
    Best wishes for 2011.

Leave a Reply

